As we are registered for Government Nursery Education Funding our curriculum is inspected to ensure that we adhere to their standards of education.

There are 7 areas of development within the Early Years Foundation Stage:

Primary Areas:

Personal, Social and Emotional Development

Communication and Language
Physical Development

Specific Areas:



Understanding the World

Expressive Art and Design


We plan our daily activities around a monthly topic and each area of the national curriculum is included in at least one activity per day.


As well as this the children also practice letters and numbers daily.


We follow the 'Letterland' reading scheme which starts the children with a simple introduction to the characters and goes through to the children's first reading words. Alongside this the children start our reading books (we follow the Oxford Reading Tree scheme), which start as 'no-word' books and then continue when the child starts primary school.


We practice low number counting and number recognition initially and then progress to ordering numbers, higher counting, addition and subtraction


When they are ready the children practice their pencil control with simple worksheets and then progress onto letter and number formation and more advanced work as and when they are ready.


Further information can be found at:






Est 2004

Telephone: 07876 800537





Please also use our

contact form

Briar Cottage Day Nursery

Cannon Lane





Print Print | Sitemap
© Briar Cottage Day Nursery

This website was created using IONOS MyWebsite.